This morning, a client forwarded a link to a phishing/malware email she received. Her spam filter caught it, but she still wasn't sure whether it was legitimate or not. Other users may not be as lucky, and quickly click on a bad link, only to become infected with malware, or subjected to a phishing scam. The email, with the subject: Intuit Secure Update Notification, looked legitimate with links back to the real Quickbooks site. The links at the bottom even looked somewhat real to the untrained eye (…quickbooks-plugin-download.org/..... ). The client contacted Inuit to find out if this was legitimate or not and forwarded a copy to TNS. Intuit and TNS confirmed that it was in fact bogus and suggested she immediately delete the email.
Intuit posted an alert on its website last week discussing this particular phishing email: Intuit – Phishing Alert for Quickbooks Customers on 11/19/09. You can find it here: http://security.intuit.com/alerts/alert.php?a=8
Intuit posted an alert on its website last week discussing this particular phishing email: Intuit – Phishing Alert for Quickbooks Customers on 11/19/09. You can find it here: http://security.intuit.com/alerts/alert.php?a=8
- Ken Cowan, Director, Business Development
No comments:
Post a Comment